Central Committee Endorses 2016 Candidates

Press Release: Clark County Republican Party Nominates All Republican Primary Winners, Makes Ballot Recommendations

Vancouver, WA  8/27/16:    The Clark County Republican Central Committee provided guidance to voters Saturday by deciding which candidates to endorse in the November elections.  The Central Committee is the governing body of the Party consisting of the Precinct Committee Officers (PCOs) elected or appointed per state law.

All Republican candidates were invited to attend.  They were first nominated for the position by the PCOs within their district, that vote was consequently ratified by the entire body whereupon the candidate was invited to speak.  All Republican candidates received the nomination of the PCOs on Saturday.

After all the nominations and speeches were concluded, the PCOs met privately to discuss endorsements.  They had three options:

ENDORSE:           The party can actively support the candidate and the candidate has access to party resources.

NO POSITION:   The party will neither actively support nor actively oppose the candidate.  Access to party resources is limited.  This is the default position when the Precinct Committee Officers do not vote to “Endorse” or to “Oppose”.  If an endorsement motion fails, the position is “No Position” unless a specific motion to oppose passes.

OPPOSE:              The party MAY actively oppose the candidate but is not obligated to do so.  No access to party resources.

Following are the results of the meeting:

President - Endorse Donald Trump, Oppose: Hillary Clinton

US Senator – No Position: Chris Vance, Oppose: Patty Murray

US Representative, 3rd Dist. – No Position: Jaime Herrera Beutler, Oppose: Jim Moeller

Governor- Endorse: Bill Bryant, Oppose: Jay Inslee

Lt. Governor – Endorse: Marty McClendon, Oppose: Cyrus Habib

Secretary of State – Endorse: Kim Wyman, Oppose: Tina Podlodowski

State Treasurer – Endorse: Michael Waite, Endorse: Duane Davidson

State Auditor – Endorse: Mark Miloscia, Oppose:  Pat (Patrice) McCarthy

Attorney General – Endorse: Joshua Trumbull (L), Oppose: Bob Ferguson

Comm. Of Public Lands – Endorse: Steve McLaughlin, Oppose: Hilary Franz

Insurance Commissioner – Endorse: Richard Schrock, Oppose: Mike Kreidler

14th Leg District Senate - Endorse: Amanda Richards (75% supermajority required, motion to endorse passed unanimously), No Position: Curtis King

14th Leg District Representative Pos 1 – Endorse: Norm Johnson, Oppose: Susan Soto Palmer

14th Leg District Representative Pos 1 – Endorse: Gina McCabe, Oppose: John (Eric) Adams

17th Leg District Senate – Endorse: Lynda Wilson, Oppose: Tim Probst

17th Leg District Representative Pos 1 – Endorse: Vicki Kraft, Oppose: Sam Kim

17th Leg District Representative Pos 2 – Endorse: Paul Harris, Oppose: Martin Hash

18th Leg District Senate – No Position: Ann Rivers (Subsequent motion to oppose Rivers failed 21–22), Oppose: Eric K. Holt

18th Leg District Representative Pos 1 – Endorse: Brandon Vick, Oppose: Justin Oberg

18th Leg District Representative Pos 2 – Endorse: Liz Pike, Oppose: Kathy Gillespie

20th Leg District Senate – Endorse: John Braun

20th Leg District Representative Pos 1 – Endorse: Richard DeBolt

20th Leg District Representative Pos 2 – Endorse: Ed Orcutt

49th Leg District Senate – Endorse: Lewis Gerhardt, Oppose: Annette Cleveland

49th Leg District Representative Pos 1 – Oppose: Sharon Wylie, Kaitlyn Beck

49th Leg District Representative Pos 2 – Oppose: Monica Stonier, Alishia Topper

Clark County Council Dis 3 – Oppose: John Blom, Tanisha Harris

Clark County Council Dis 4 – Endorse: Eileen Quiring, Oppose: Roman Battan

Supreme Court Justice Pos 1 – Endorse: David DeWolf (Motion to endorse passed unanimously)

Supreme Court Justice Pos 5 – Endorse: Greg Zempel (Motion to endorse passed unanimously), Oppose: Barbara Madsen

Supreme Court Justice Pos 6 – Dave Larson (Motion to endorse passed unanimously)

Clark PUD Pos 2 – Endorse: Nancy Barnes

The PCOs also voted to oppose Initiatives 732, 735 & 1464.

For more information, contact Chairman Kenny Smith at 360-521-8565 or KennySmith@ClarkRepublicans.com